NJ sportsbooks install Patrick Mahomes as Super Bowl MVP favorite

The Super Bowl is the time for major betting action at all New Jersey sportsbooks with tons of wagering options available. One of the more popular bets is: Who will win the Super Bowl MVP? All the NJ betting sites have Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes as the favorite to win this year’s award.

The betting odds to win the MVP do not differ much at the New Jersey sportsbooks. For example, Mahomes is at +110 to win the MVP at both the FanDuel NJ sportsbook and Caesars.

Here are the top 15 players in the Super Bowl MVP betting at FanDuel:

  • Patrick Mahomes (Chiefs) +110
  • Jimmy Garoppolo (49ers) +250
  • Raheem Mostert (49ers) +850
  • Tyreek Hill (Chiefs) +1700
  • George Kittle (49ers) +1800
  • Travis Kelce (Chiefs) +2200
  • Deebo Samuel (49ers) +2400
  • Damien Williams (Chiefs) +2400
  • Nick Bosa (49ers) +3300
  • Emmanuel Sanders (49ers) +4500
  • Sammy Watkins (Chiefs) +4500
  • Tevin Coleman (49ers) +5000
  • Tyrann Mathieu (Chiefs) +6500
  • Frank Clark (Chiefs) +7000
  • Matt Breida (49ers) +7000

Those Super Bowl MVP odds point to a two-horse race between Mahomes and Garoppolo, with 49ers running back Raheem Mostert the best of the rest at +850.

Mahomes has lit it up in the two Kansas City playoff games, passing for 615 yards with eight touchdowns and no interceptions. On the other side of the coin, Garoppolo has not had to pass much because the 49ers have killed it rushing the ball in their two playoff wins. In the two San Francisco playoff games he has only passed for 210 yards, with a touchdown and an interception, and in the NFC title game was only six for eight for 77 yards.

The 49ers have rushed for 471 yards in their two playoff games. In their first one Tevin Coleman (+5000) rushed for 105 yards and in the NFC title game Mostert racked up a massive 220 rushing yards with four touchdowns. San Francisco defensive end Nick Bosa has the best odds of any defensive player to win the MVP at +3300 and in the two playoff games he had three sacks and 10 tackles.

It is no surprise that New Jersey sportsbooks have Mahomes and Garoppolo with the best odds. In the 53 Super Bowls played, a quarterback has won the MVP 29 times. Here is a breakdown of Super Bowl MVPs by position:

  • Quarterback 29
  • Running back 7
  • Wide receiver 7
  • Linebacker 4
  • Defensive end 2
  • Safety 2
  • Cornerback 1
  • Defensive tackle 1
  • Kick returner/punt returner 1

Wide receiver Julian Edelman won the Super Bowl MVP last season and while only 10 of the Super Bowl MVPs have been defensive players, that has happened twice in the last five years. Tom Brady leads the way with four Super Bowl MVP trophies, followed by Joe Montana with three and Bart Star, Terry Bradshaw, and Eli Manning with two apiece. The 1978 Super Bowl is the only one that has had a co-MVP, with the Dallas Cowboys’ Harvey Martin and Randy White sharing the award.

Show More
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *